Saturday, November 28, 2009

2011 Cricket World Cup Matches Announced!

ICC has announced the matches for the 2011 WC. ICC has aimed for the shorter WC and the Super-8 group has been replaced by the old method Quarter-Finals. 14 teams have been split into 2 groups and a team has to end in the top 4 in the group to get to the Quater-Finals, after which the tournaments becomes a knock-out stage. The matches to be played in Pakistan has to shifted to Sri Lanka. Pakistan will play all their matches in Sri Lanka, however they will be welcomed to India if they reach the finals.

The teams are -

Group A - Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada, Kenya.

Group B - India, South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands.

Indian matches are as follows,

Feb 19 - India vs Bangladesh - Mirpur
Feb 27 - India vs England - Kolkata
Mar 6 - India vs Ireland - Bangalore
Mar 9 - India vs Netherlands - Delhi
Mar 12 - India vs South Africa - Nagpur
Mar 20 - India vs West Indies - Chennai

Quarter finals - Mar 23 (Mirpur), 24 (Colombo), 25 (Mirpur), 26 (Ahmedabad)
Semi finals - Mar 29 (Colombo), 30 (Mohali)
Finals - Apr 2 (Mumbai)

Matches at Chennai:

Feb 20 - Kenya vs New Zealand
Mar 6 - England vs South Africa
Mar 17 - England vs West Indies
Mar 20 - India vs West Indies

1 comment:

Vivek said... ada theriyatha?! :-o :P :P